Exploding Water Melon

Street photography comes hard to me but this one almost made itself. I was out walking my dog and we came upon a mother and her two young boys wrapping rubber bands around a water melon. We arrived just as the thing was going to explode and the boy’s excitement was infectious. Things were happening fast so i tried for a few shots to tell the story (mum and boys fitting the bands). Then just as the family ran for protection I stepped in the capture the action. No sooner had I framed up with the boy in the foreground to capture his inevitable delight when the thing burst.

I got two beautiful shots with the mellon in the air. Thos one is cropped at the bottom to emphasise the melon, otherwise the only thing I did was add some sharpening in Lightroom and there she is.

We exchanged email addresses and I am sure the boys love the shot.

What do you think?

Water Mellon Explosion Action

 

2 thoughts on “Exploding Water Melon”

Leave a Reply

