Beach Sports

Coogee Beach - ISO 100, 1/2000, f6.3
Coogee Beach – ISO 100, 1/2000, f6.3

In October I attended the Sydney Camera Collectors Camera Market, talk about dreams coming true.

There was all matter of camera gear, from filters to some of the loveliest vintage Leicas I have ever seen.

I fell in love with a 1997 model 80-200mm f/2.8 AF-D  Nikon lens.

So with new lens in hand the very next day, I went down to Coogee beach to see what I could capture –  I had read about the fantastic optics of this lens wanted to test run my new pride and joy.

I parked the car and immediately came across the local Beach Volley Ball Club. Things were going right that day.

Two and a half hours later, a flat battery and a full SD card, I had captured almost 500 dynamic sports shots.

Not every one was a keeper, in fact for all that time there were only a hand full of them, but boy did I have a fantastic time.

The optics are fantastic. The lens is on the heavy side but boy, is it fast and with the multiplication factor of smaller sensor the focal length is effectively 300mm.

So the love affair continues! I fact, it has not come off the camera. Last weekend it was chasing nature shots at Malabar Headland, but more on those shots in another post.

Until next time.

Streched-232
Coogee Beach – ISO 100, 1/2000, f6.3

Strech-53

Coogee Beach - ISO 100, 1/2000, f6.3
Coogee Beach – ISO 100, 1/2000, f6.3
Leave a Reply

